SULDR Forums Supported Printers Printing Questions Scanning Questions General Questions Samsung Installer

CLX-3175FW on Ubuntu 14.04 - and I'm a Noob at Linux!

Started by mysticturner, June 12, 2014, 20:30:18

Previous topic - Next topic

mysticturner

I'm fairly new to Linux and while I had the printer sort of working using some sort of install that I don't even remember when I first setup Ubuntu last year, I was never real happy with it.  So when I upgraded to 14.04 (from 12.04 LTS), I decided to find a better solution.

I found this site and installed (so far) just suld-driver-4.01.17.  The printer is out of ink so I can't verify truely printing, but I do get the messages back about the ink levels and such.  I have the ink on hand so I'll try this weekend to refill the cartidges and reset it.  But I have to admit that I'm liking the scanning setup as I've found a superior package to handle it.

I still do not have the 'scan from the printer keys' working.  I'll keep working on that and update.  Also I've not noticed a noob level set of instructions on how to setup the repository.  I'm willing to write a how to from the perspective of someone who's never worked with APT, describing my journey.  Any comments as to where I should put such a post?

And lastly - Thanks for putting together SULDR!

bchemnet

Quote from: mysticturner on June 12, 2014, 20:30:18
I still do not have the 'scan from the printer keys' working.  I'll keep working on that and update.  Also I've not noticed a noob level set of instructions on how to setup the repository.

The suld-scantopc packages (scanner server) were written for this purpose.  They are still a work in progress, but if you don't have immediate success you can post to the corresponding forum board for assistance.  (I just provide those packages, I don't maintain the actual scripts involved.)

Quote from: mysticturner on June 12, 2014, 20:30:18